Healthy Food Database

Get the Flash Player to see this player.
Tamari is similar to soy sauce (shoyu) but made without wheat. It is a gluten free alternative to soy sauce.
The word "tamari" literally means liquid from soybeans, and was the by-product of fermenting soybeans made in casks to make miso. Today tamari is naturally brewed from whole soybeans, sea salt, water, and koji (an enzyme introduced to breakdown the proteins and carbohydrates in soy beans).
Find it next to the soy sauce in the grocery section at your greengrocers or health food. stores.
Category: Condiment
In Season: all year
To Buy:
Buy in bottles from a health food store or the health section of your supermarket. Check the ingredients to ensure you are buying a good quality product. Look for labelling that states it's naturally brewed or organic.
To Store:
Once opened store in the fridge for up to 12 months.
Tips & Tricks:
Watch out for poor quality commercial tamari and soy sauce products with additives including hexane - a petroleum derivative, genetically engineered enzymes, caramel colouring, hydrochloric acid and sugar.
Cooking Tips:
Tamari has a stronger flavour than shoyu. It is excellent in marinades and salad dressings, to flavour grilled food, and on the table as condiment or dipping sauce.

Nutrition per 100 Grams:

Safe/negligible amount

Benefits the Following Health Conditions:*

Find recipes with Tamari

* This information is sourced by a qualified naturopath. It is non prescriptive and not intended as a cure for the condition. Recommended intake is not provided. It is no substitute for the advice and treatment of a professional practitioner.

Facebook Twitter RSS