The Food Coach

Healthy Food Database

Get the Flash Player to see this player.
Featured Video - Tamari
Tamari is similar to soy sauce (shoyu) but made without wheat. It is a gluten free alternative to soy sauce.
The word "tamari" literally means liquid from soybeans, and was the by-product of fermenting soybeans made in casks to make miso. Today tamari is naturally brewed from whole soybeans, sea salt, water, and koji (an enzyme introduced to breakdown the proteins and carbohydrates in soy beans).
Find it next to the soy sauce in the grocery section at your greengrocers or health food. stores.

Search for food

From here you can either search for a food, or browse all by alphabetical order.

Browse by letter
ABCDEFGHI
JKLMNOPQR
STUVWXYZ All
Browse by health
Browse by nutrition
Search for a food



* This information is sourced by a qualified naturopath. It is non prescriptive and not intended as a cure for the condition. Recommended intake is not provided. It is no substitute for the advice and treatment of a professional practitioner.